hostjapan.blogg.se

How come my macvim .vim is empty
How come my macvim .vim is empty













  1. HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY HOW TO
  2. HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY INSTALL
  3. HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY MANUAL
  4. HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY MAC

There are a bunch of tools to make it easier like CSApprox and others. You'll need to convert them to 256 colors for use in CLI Vim. The "best" colorschemes are often designed specifically for GUI Vim which is able to display thousands of colors. The configuration settings may vary from terminal to terminal, though, but a quick google for vim 256 colors will give you all the info you need. There is a big chance that the correct $TERM ( xterm-256color) is not set by default. On Linux all the default terminal emulators support 256 colors. Just use a terminal emulator capable of displaying 256 colors and a suitable colorscheme. Another advantage for me is I get to use the same terminal emulator on both OS X and Linux. But I have yet to find anything for OS X that even comes close to being as good as konsole.

HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY INSTALL

I would rather not have to install KDE on OS X to run a terminal emulator. I prefer konsole and install it via macports. For me I've found this criteria narrows it down to gnome-terminal and konsole(KDE's terminal). The answer is to use a terminal emulator that is fast, mature, and built to live in. I tried several terminal emulators for OS X, and had found them all, except two, to be sub-par for development with Vim. I've tried iTerm, but found it wasn't good enough. I've noticed the default Terminal on Lion is much faster than the previous version. Most terminals (or all terminals?) on OS X are slow.

how come my macvim .vim is empty

My primary OS is Linux, but I've done development, in Vim through a terminal, on OS X as well. I've gone through this, and solved it, about two years ago. This is easily remedied by downloading and installing a fork of this plugin by another developer. s:SetNamedColor('#40E0D0','Turquoise') call, it takes awhile. Because it's implemented with a loop scanning all 255 colors for the closest match, and repeated ~150 times, once per e.g.

how come my macvim .vim is empty

For 256-color terminals, however, the s:Xterm2rgb function is required for converting RGB values to appropriate color codes. Since mvim can handle direct hex values for colors, no translation is needed and everything loads quickly. This only applies to 256-color terminal vim, not mvim or presumably gvim. Here is a quote for a github issue about this problem. It turns out that my slow vim was due to a plugin called: vim-css-color. Going back to macvim with the same setup it opens files blazing fast.Īs you guys can see it's not just a few milliseconds we're talking here. nf (could it be tmux that's causing it?). Is this a common issue? Do I need to post my. So much so that I'm holding off on finishing my workflow video because it's so damn annoying. When I open a file in terminal vim, not matter the size, there's a very noticeable pause. In fact it's identical to MacVim (to those that think you can't get a beautiful color scheme/syntax on terminal vim, you're dead wrong).īut. I love the new workflow, and I have my vim set up exactly how I want it. We are all human and vim is that cool.Īs most of you know, and helped me out with, I recently switched my workflow from MacVim to iTerm2/tmux/vim.

how come my macvim .vim is empty

And please those of you who deign to grace us with your vim wisdom - be kind.

  • Vim Awesome: list of popular vim plugins.ĭon't be afraid to ask questions, this sub is here for the vim community.
  • HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY HOW TO

  • Learn Vimscript the Hard Way: is a book for users of the Vim editor who want to learn how to customize Vim.
  • Derek Wyatt's Vim tutorial videos: video tutorials by Derek Wyatt's.
  • Vimcasts: screencasts by the author of practical vim.
  • 7 habits of effective text editing: a short guide on getting better at editing by the Vim author.
  • usevim: a vim blog with some great outbound links.
  • Patrick Schanen's Vim Page: an index of vim resources more complete than this list.
  • vi.: questions and answers stackexchange style.
  • : the most popular vim wiki, lots of great content.
  • HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY MAC

  • Vim Mac Mailing List: low volume mac specific list.
  • how come my macvim .vim is empty

  • Vim Dev Mailing List: high volume dev list.
  • Vim Use Mailing List: high volume user support list.
  • Vim Announcements Mailing List: low volume announcement list.
  • Our Wiki!: Let me know if you want to be a contributor.
  • #vim on freenode: 1000+ person reasonably active IRC channel.
  • HOW COME MY MACVIM .VIM IS EMPTY MANUAL

  • Vim user manual (PDF): 341 pages (extracted from full help linked below).














  • How come my macvim .vim is empty